Beginnings

Getting started has got to be the hardest part right? Choosing what to bake: hardest part. Picking what you want to eat: hardest part. Selecting where to go to eat: hardest part. There’s a certain uncertainty about beginnings and that makes them a little bit incredibly scary.

Maybe let’s start here: Hi, I’m Molly and for all intensive purposes I am the Ginger Nut. I am terrible at grammar, feel free to mock, and I love travelling (picking where to go: hardest part. Knowing where to stay: hardest part, I’d go on but I’m sure you’d stop reading if you haven’t done so already). I travel a lot, probably because I’ve moved around a lot. But something that’s struck me recently whilst traveling through Europe and whilst living in the UK these past couple of years, is that cheap, good, accessible food is hard to come by (which kind of defeats the object of accessible). Before the age of eighteen which is when my friends started driving and we all began attempting to build a life entirely independent of our parents (if you’re at that psychological stage, my best advice is give up now! Unless you’re willing to don an apron to cook, brandish an iron, and make spare money a thing of the past just stick by your ‘rents, you love them really), you live life oblivious to the true price of food.

Food is expensive!

When you’re young, you have the luxury of being able to take for granted the true price of food. There’s stuff in the cupboard when you fancy a snack. Someone is paying for your school lunches. Come dinner time, all you have to do is eat what’s put in front of you or even if you do have to cook for the family, the ingredients are purchased with money that most certainly did not come out of your own stash of ‘hard-earned’ cash.

Recently my own blissful unawareness bubble burst. I started travelling without my parents – how incredibly grown up of me, I know. I simply ooze sophistication I assure you. And with grown-up travels comes grown-up budgeting. The Hungry Welshman and I agreed, before setting off on a two-and-a-half week European adventure, that we would eat sensibly, eat healthily, eat affordably, and eat with the intention of experiencing everything we sought out to experience. Budgeting should not mean having to limit yourself to boring tastes, particularly when travelling.

And thus begins this food blog… On the mantra that experiencing flavoursome foods need not cost the Earth and neither should good honest food.

Don’t get me wrong at this point, the food discussed on here will not be the cheapest available especially seeing as this shall lean more towards eating out rather than eating in. It is, after all, a food interest blog because I am interested in food, and I know you lot out there are too.

Here’s to beginnings!

The Ginger Nut  xx

Leave a comment